“My Ways Are Far Beyond…”

“‘My thoughts are nothing like your thoughts,’ says the Lord. ‘And My ways are far beyond anything you could imagine. For just as the heavens are higher than the earth, so My ways are higher than your ways and My thoughts higher than your thoughts…” – Isaiah 55:8-9

As I came across these wonderful, God-spoken words in my Bible study today, all I could do was stop and think. My thoughts really are not God’s thoughts; and my ways are definitely not God’s ways. Even though the Holy Spirit resides in me, I am still not capable of thinking like God or acting in His manner.

As I read these verses and reflected back on prayers I have had or do have with God. I pray I can think as Jesus did while He roamed the Earth. I pray I can walk the way He walked. I pray I can love the way He loved. The more I thought about it though, the more I realized I will never think as Jesus did, or walk as He walked or love as He loved because I am not and never will be Jesus. What I can look forward to is, every day I pray these things to the amazing Father I have, I can come closer and closer to thinking, walking and loving as Jesus did.

“‘The rain and snow come down from the heavens and stay on the ground to water the earth. They cause the grain to grow, producing seed for the farmer and bread for the hungry. It is the same with My Word. I send it out, and it always produces fruit. It will accomplish all I want it to, and it will prosper everywhere I send it.’” – Isaiah 55:10-11

The water cycle is the name given to describe the continuous movement of water from the Earth to the atmosphere. This cycle was designed by God Himself to help all parts of this world. He knew the Earth would need water in order to sustain and thrive, so God designed rain and snow to come down from heaven to earth and then return once again after it had helped the earth.

God also created the Living Word, aka the Bible. He spoke the Word to us from heaven to earth so we may sustain and thrive in this world. When we pray and live out His Word, we are living out the purpose for which He gave it to us. Just as the earth would die without water, we would die without God’s Word.

Lately, I have used the excuse that my life is too busy and hectic to spend as much time in the Bible as I used to. I have too much going on, between work, serving the church, my friends, meetings, my family and just life in general. I sleep longer in the mornings because I am tired from all I have going on in my day to day, instead of rising earlier and spending time with my Father.

After reflecting back on the past few months, I realized my life was not thriving as much as it used to. I realized I am making up excuses to God whenever He tells me to spend more time with Him. I realized I am more tired lately even though it seems as if I am sleeping more every night.

Just by reading these verses and reflecting back on my last few months, I now know what has caused all these things. God sent the Bible to me so I may read it and sustain and thrive in life. He also sent me the Bible to help me produce “seeds” and give “bread” to the hungry. My life has not been what God has intended it to be because I have not been using the tools He gave me.

Every day I pray God shows me His wants and desires for my life. I pray I will desire and long for the amazing life He SO desperately wants me to have. I also pray my thoughts and ways will aline with His more and more every day. Lastly, I pray I, just as the earth, soak up the Word of God and my life thrives off of the nutrients God gives me through it.

Leave a Reply

