Broken Within Though Healing Begins

Recently in my life, God has made known to me that I have walls built up in my life which are hindering me from growing in Him and growing in relation with others around me. I have also come to realize, over the last few years especially, I have tried to keep adding things to do in my life to keep myself busy, to keep myself from feeling and going through some emotions I so badly needed to. Lastly, God has shined light on how I have tried to be my own “savior” in my life many times, how I have tried to figure out what to do during a crisis instead of turning towards God for help each and every time.

This morning I heard a song on the radio I’ve heard quite a few times in the past few months, but it was not until today that it made waves in my brain. The song is called Healing Begin by Tenth Avenue North. It is on Tenth Avenue North’s album Light Meets the Dark released on May 11, 2010. Wow, what a powerful song! Everything God has been shedding light on in my life recently is spoken of in the lyrics of this powerful song God helped Tenth Avenue North write. Here are the lyrics (with some emphasis on certain phrases):

So you thought you had to keep this up
All the work that you do
So we think that you’re good
And you can’t believe it’s not enough
All the walls you built up
Are just glass on the outside

So let ’em fall down
There’s freedom waiting in the sound
When you let your walls fall to the ground
We’re here now

This is where the healing begins, oh
This is where the healing starts
When you come to where you’re broken within
The light meets the dark

The light meets the dark

Afraid to let your secrets out
Everything that you hide
Can come crashing through the door now

But too scared to face all your fear
So you hide but you find
That the shame won’t disappear

So let it fall down
There’s freedom waiting in the sound
When you let your walls fall to the ground
We’re here now
We’re here now, oh

This is where the healing begins, oh
This is where the healing starts
When you come to where you’re broken within
The light meets the dark
The light meets the dark

Sparks will fly as grace collides
With the dark inside of us
So please don’t fight
This coming light
Let this blood come cover us
His blood can cover us

This is where the healing begins, oh
This is where the healing starts
When you come to where you’re broken within
The light meets the dark

The light meets the dark
©Tenth Avenue North

God has been speaking to me about how I continue to just do, do, do for everyone instead of stepping back and letting God do for me instead. Within the last year or so, I have had many events happen where I should have felt certain emotions for or during, but instead of going through those emotions, instead of just letting them out, I hid behind doing things for others, I built up walls. I kept agreeing to help or serve or be there for others, instead of looking inward and letting God help and serve me. After I started to do all these things for others, I did not think it was possible for me to stop because I thought I would be letting everyone down. It was not until God forced me to stop recently that I have realized I don’t have to keep all this up.

In my life, I have built up quite a few walls to hid behind or just even rest behind. I have shied away from emotions or feelings I have had because of the various events that have happened in my life. I have over -looked how I feel in my life to make sure others were happy or doing okay in theirs. Just as the song says though, if I let my “walls fall to the ground we’re here now.” If I finally let my walls down, I know those around me will be there to hold me up. I know the God I serve will be there to hold me up.

After listening to Tenth Avenue North’s song, I jumped online to read their explanation of why they wrote the song, but instead I found their video journal. Again, it was a very powerful message their lead sing spoke. He said how, for many of us, it is easy to confess our sins or talk to God about things, but it is hard to confess or talk to one another. Here is the video link: Tenth Avenue North – “Healing Begins” Video Journal

At the end of the video, Mike Donehey, the lead singer, speaks of a verse in James. It is: “Therefore, confess your sins to one another, and pray for one another so that you may be healed. The effective prayer of a righteous man can accomplish much.” – James 5:16

In this verse, James tells us that we should confess our sins to one another and pray for one another. More than just confessing our sins to one another, I think James is also saying that we should just talk to one another in general; pray for one another always; and simply live life together as the body of Christ.

Leave a Reply

