Blended Mocha Frap

Hello! Hopefully your day started off fantastic. I start off most of my mornings with a nice cup of coffee, and by coffee I mean fru-fru coffee. Most of the time I brew from home; well I guess my husband brews my coffee from home. He leaves a little bit after I do in the morning, so he wakes up and makes me a bagel for breakfast and some coffee before I leave for work. Isn’t he just the best?!

Sometimes, if I’m not feeling the regular old brewed coffee and some flavored creamer, I opt for stopping by Starbucks on my way into work. Problem with that is, they are so darn expensive! Thankfully I don’t do it too often. Well, the other evening (yep, I have coffee at night) I thought about making a frozen coffee drink to enjoy. After a little bit of experimenting, I made a Blended Mocha Frap that I really like. I made it the other morning, instead of my usual hot coffee, and it was great start to the morning. Without further ado, here’s the recipe.

What You’ll Need:

  • Blender (or Ninja travel cup blender or Magic Bullet)
  • ½ cup of coffee
  • 2/3 cup of Almond Milk (or Soy Milk or regular milk)
  • Some ice cubes (I found the magic number was 12-15)
  • Some Chocolate Syrup (Use your judgment and how much or how little you want)
  • 1 tbsp. of brown sugar (this is 100% optional, I didn’t use sugar, but if you don’t like the taste of coffee at all, then I would suggest using the sugar)

Let’s Get Started:

To begin, figure out what you are using to blend everything. We have a sweet Ninja blender that came with 3 travel mugs and a blender tool specifically designed for those. A magic bullet would also would out great, but if you don’t have either of those, just use a regular blender. You could also double the recipe in order to share if you use a full size blender.

photo 1

Next, brew your coffee. I make 1 cup of coffee from our Keurig, so then I’m able to make 2 of these drinks, one for one day and the other for the next day, or for later on that night depending on the day I’ve had.

Next, pour in your milk. In my case, I used Light, Vanilla Almond Milk. For coffee type drinks, I prefer almond milk over regular milk and soy milk, but if almond isn’t available, soy is the option I choose (which means 60 extra cents at Starbucks).

photo 2

Up next are the ice cubes and the chocolate syrup. I actually counted out the number of ice cubes for this recipe, though originally I just put ice in the cup. At first I put 12 and it wasn’t icy enough, so I added more to make it 15. Next, I squirt in some Hershey’s Chocolate Syrup. I just used my judgment, not too much and not too little. You can always blend it, taste it and add more if needed.

Yay, it is officially time to blend. Screw on the top and blend away.

photo 4

My hubby doesn’t like the taste of coffee, so when I first made this, I added 1 tablespoon of brown sugar and the drink tasted great! The sugar wasn’t overpowering and there was definitely no taste of coffee. When I make this just for my tasting pleasure, I don’t add the sugar because I don’t think the coffee is overpowering to begin with, and I don’t mind a little coffee flavor. :)

Anyways. Here’s the result and it was delicious! Enjoy and feel great because you just saved yourself like 5 bucks! #beatthatsbux

Blended-Mocha-Frap

Leave a Reply

