Mini Meatloaf Muffins (Turkey Edition)

As of right now, my husband and I are a few months into our 2nd year of marriage (yay!), and there is definitely one thing I have learned thus far…cooking for 2 is quite a hard task. Yes, I know, it is quite a silly thing to say that I’ve learned throughout a year of marriage, but that’s why I said “one thing.” :) With that said, I’ve learned the power of portion control, as well as the power of leftovers.

Meatloaf is a great meal, in my opinion and the hubby’s. My only beef (pun intended)  with meatloaf is that I think it is far too difficult to package up for leftovers, so I thought, why not make it differently. And this is where meatloaf muffins were born. They have become a staple in our household. They are super easy to make. They are super easy to have as leftovers. And best of all, they are super great!

The recipe below is made with ground turkey, but we usually make them with ground beef. Really, you can make them with either, both are great! Also, I usually double the recipe so we can have some leftovers for a couple of days.

Here’s what you’ll need:

  • 2 slices of bread
  • 1 lb. ground beef or turkey
  • 1 egg
  • ½ cup ketchup
  • 1 tsp. mustard
  • 2 tbsp. BBQ sauce
  • Salt, pepper & garlic powder (¼  tsp. of each)

Let’s Begin:

Preheat your oven to 375° and spray a 12-cup muffin pan with non-stick cooking spray (or if you are doubling the recipe like me, then spray two pans).

Muffin Pans

Place the bread in a blender until fine crumbs are formed. In a large bowl, mix the meat and the bread. (P.S. I use my trusty KitchenAide for this whole process.)

Meat & Bread Crumbs

Next, add all of the other ingredients to the mixer (I usually put mine in a bowl first and then add to the mixer). NOTE: The recipe pictured is doubled, so normally only ONE egg is needed.

Wet Ingredients

Mix until well combined.

After Everything Is Mixed

If you are squeamish with meat, you probably aren’t going to like this next part, sorry! Divide the mixture among the muffin cups. I never divide evenly (though I’m a math person), so I always end up not having quite enough for exactly 24 (after doubling the recipe), but no biggie.

Right Before

In a little dish, combine some ketchup, BBQ sauce and a little bit of mustard. Just use your judgment, but make sure you use more ketchup than anything else and only a LITTLE bit of mustard. Top each of the mini meatloaf muffins with this mixture.

Right Before

Lastly, bake them in the oven for 35-40 minutes. NOTE: If you are using turkey, I would bake for 40 minutes, but you can bake for 35 minutes if you are using beef, no biggie.

I added some peas as a nice side, but you can pair this dish with literally anything as a side. YUM!

Mini-Meatloaf-Muffins

Download the PDF recipe card for this recipe here: Mini Meatloaf Muffins Recipe Card.

Leave a Reply

