Chicken & Corn Chowder

In honor of the hubby and I taking our first (of hopefully many) trip to Boston, I decided my Thursday post would be a recipe for some delicious chowder.

First, the trip to Boston. The hubby is a HUGE Boston Red Sox fan, so for our 1st anniversary, I decided to buy some Red Sox v. Yankees tickets. This season marks the 100th anniversary of the amazing, historic ballpark they play in (Fenway), so why not catch a game? I also thought it would be a blast to tour the famous city of Boston.

Next, the chowder. Personally, I have never enjoyed clam chowder, but I know the hubs likes it (occasionally). With that said, I decided why not mix up the recipe a little and incorporate some things we both really like. I REALLY like corn and potatoes. I’m from Nebraska, what else do we except. Jordan really likes carrots and chicken. So when I decided to make my own chowder, these ingredients were my beginning. I hope you all enjoy it as much as we do!

Ingredient List:

  • 2-3 Boneless Chicken Breasts (depending on how much you are making)
  • 2 tbsp. of Butter (chopped into little chunks)
  • ¼ cup Chopped Onion (optional)
  • 2-3 sticks of Celery (chopped)
  • 1-2 cups of Chopped Carrots (or 1 can of sliced carrots)
  • 1 can of Corn (or 1 package of frozen)
  • 2 cans of Cream of Potato Soup
  • 1 can of Chicken Broth
  • ½ cup of Milk

Let’s Freeze Some Chowder:

Some friends of ours just recently had a baby, so I decided to make them some frozen meals so they didn’t have to worry about cooking for a few days. I decided to make this meal frozen, so the beginning of this recipe is how to go about doing that.

First off, I labeled a large, freezer Ziploc© baggie with the instructions. NOTE: Do the labeling BEFORE putting the ingredients inside, it’s easier :)

Chicken & Corn Chowder-1

Next, I chopped up the celery and the carrots and set out some of the other ingredients.

Chicken & Corn Chowder-3

Also, just wanted to send a little shout-out to Hungenberg Produce, I used their carrots. The Hungenbergs are longtime friends of Jordan’s and have quickly become my friends as well. Plus, I was preparing this meal for two of them. :)

Chicken & Corn Chowder-2

For easy filling, I put the baggie in a bowl and then just started to dump all of the ingredients inside. I had just made some shredded chicken in the crock-pot that day, so I had fresh chicken broth to use instead of a can, so that was added as well. Add everything EXCEPT the milk.

Chicken & Corn Chowder-4

Seal the bag tightly and then freeze.

Chicken & Corn Chowder-5

In order to cook, thaw the bag in the refrigerator (or sink) overnight. NOTE: I would put it in a bowl, just in case it leaks or sweats.

Let’s Make Some Chowder:

If you don’t want to go the make-ahead route, you can make it in the morning. Follow the same steps as above, except put everything in the crock-pot (EXCEPT the milk, again). Cook on low for 6-8 hours.

Chicken & Corn Chowder-6

Before eating, remove the chicken, shred it and return it to the crock-pot. Add the ½ cup of milk to the pot and then stir everything. Cook for another 15 minutes on low and then enjoy!

Chicken & Corn Chowder-7

Want the recipe card? Click here for it: Chicken & Corn Chowder Recipe Card

Leave a Reply

