Homemade Pretzels

My brother and I have a very interesting bond over pretzels. Yes, I said bond over pretzels, like the food. I cannot really pinpoint exactly where it started, but one thing I do know is that we used to make special trips to the mall in order to enjoy a pretzel together throughout various times in our lives.

Nine years later and my brother and I still bond over pretzels. If I am eating one, I send him a picture, and vice versa. When Starbucks© announced they were going to add pretzels to their menu, I found out through my brother, not Starbucks©. Thus, when I found a recipe for pretzels, well I was all game for trying it.

I tried the recipe out on my hubby first. We had pretzels, cheese sauce and breaded chicken (totally a kid-friendly meal). After making them, I went back to the drawing board because I did not prefer how they turned out. A few changes later, and lots of taste testing on my hubby, I have decided on a recipe. Furthermore, it is brother approved :)

Here’s what you’ll need:

  • 1 ½ cups of Water
  • 1 packet of active dry yeast (if you’ve never brought this stuff, it comes in little packets, usually in a group of 3, you’ll need one)
  • 1 tsp. of Salt
  • 1 tbsp. of Brown Sugar
  • 4 cups of Flour (all-purpose or whole wheat)
  • 1 egg

Let’s make some pretzels:

Preheat the oven to 425°. Spray two baking sheets with non-stick spray, or you could use one of those nifty silicone baking pads (OR after talking to one of my coworkers, you could probably use a pizza stone).

Now for the dough making. First off, warm the water (in a microwave-safe dish) for about 1 minute. While that is warming, setup your KitchenAide with the whisk attachment. Put the water and the yeast into the bowl and whisk until the yeast has dissolved (so for about a minute or so).

Pretzels1

Next, add the sugar and salt and whisk again.

Pretzels2

Now it is time to watch the liquid mess turn into dough. Switch out the whisk attachment for the dough hook attachment. Add the flour to the mixture. Make sure to add 1 cup at a time and use the dough hook to combine after each cup.

Pretzels3

After the dough is no longer sticky (add a little more flour if it is still sticky), then put the dough on a floured counter-top and knead it for about 3 minutes or so.

Pretzels4

Now it is time to divide the big ball of dough into 8 smaller ones. There is no exact science for this; you can use your hands or a knife, whatever you desire.

Roll each dough piece into a long, thin rope. Each rope will be a different size, depending on the dividing method you used, but you want to try to make the entire rope about the same diameter.

Form them into a pretzel shape and then place them on the pan.

Pretzels5

Lastly, beat the egg in a small dish and then brush onto the tops of each pretzels. You can pick up the pretzels and brush on the underside, but I did not find this necessary. If you want to add salt to the tops, this would be the time. NOTE: You can also add other toppings, instead of salt, to the tops now too, such as cinnamon and sugar.

Pretzels6

Bake for 10 minutes. Serve the pretzels with some sort of cheese dipping sauce, if so desired.

Pretzels7

I served ours with some homemade chicken nuggets, honey and cheese. It was a delicious meal and I can’t even begin to describe how great the pretzels turned out!

Pretzels_main

Download the PDF recipe card for Homemade Pretzels here:

Homemade Pretzel Recipe Card

Leave a Reply

