I am a FAN!

Huskers3Inscription seen as you enter the stadium from the Southwest. 

There are probably not too many people out there who need to be caught up on last night’s Super Bowl 48. I do think some people need to be caught up on what it means to truly be a fan, though.

For me, I cannot call myself a Broncos fan. Instead, I am a Huskers fan through and through. I have been all my life. Win. Lose. Or draw. It doesn’t matter, I’m in it for the long haul. Yes, winning is amazing. And yes, losing sucks. But in the end, I am a Husker fan not for a win/lose record but instead for the team.

A friend of mine posted a blog post on Facebook that I found quite interesting. It is called This. Is. Nebraska. It’s probably not a post that everyone will want to read, so don’t feel obligated. Instead, I’ll let you read my favorite part:

“When you walk into Memorial Stadium from the southwest and you look up, you see this inscription: “Not the victory but the action; Not the goal but the game; In the deed the glory.” That, in a nutshell, is what it means to be a Nebraskan, a Husker.

That’s our standard.

Win or lose, make it or no, we just want a chance to give it our best shot. If our best shot wins us all the marbles, great. If it doesn’t, we’ll clap for you when your best wins you all the marbles.”

It has made me quite sad and disappointed to see all of the negative posts on Facebook from Broncos fans. If you call yourself a Broncos fan, you should be in it for the long haul. Win. Lose. Or draw. Yes, losing on the biggest stage of the NFL sucks, but hey, at least your team made it that far! In a post-game interview, Peyton Manning was asked if the loss was embarrassing, this is his response:

“It’s not embarrassing at all. I would not use that word. There’s a bunch of professional football players in that Denver locker room who put in a lot of hard work to play in that game.”

I found that to be so humbling. I have used the word “embarrassing” to describe some Husker loses, and how wrong I was! Win or lose, two teams worked hard, including the team that lost! How a competition works is that one team has to win and one has to lose. I never want to label my Huskers as embarrassing, because they are far from it!

For all of those fans of other teams out there who are poking fun at Broncos fans, recall how far your team made it. Does it mean you had to cheer for the Broncos or the Seahawks during yesterday’s game? No, but you could at least recognize that both the Broncos and the Seahawks reached the highest of stages in the NFL. They both had the opportunity to compete to be called the best of 2013-14. In the end, the Seahawks prevailed, but out of 33 teams, the Broncos came in 2nd. Where did your team fall?

And lastly, I hope that Broncos fans can take to heart those last couple sentences of the quote above, “If our best shot wins us all the marbles, great. If it doesn’t, we’ll clap for you when your best wins you all the marbles.”

Clap for the Seahawks organization, their fans, their players and their coaches. Be the better sport. They won, not by cheating or lying, but by having their best prevail over the Broncos’ best. Clap for them and let them have the glory they rightly deserve. Hold your heads high, claim your Broncos through “better or worse” and know, there’s always next season!

Huskers1Tom Osborne (former Nebraska head coach) and quarterback Brook Berringer (who helped the Huskers win the 1994 national championship but was later killed in a plane crash in 1996) greet fans on the east side of the stadium. 

Huskers4Husker fan, through and through!

One thought on “I am a FAN!

Leave a Reply

