Chicken Enchiladas

Mexican inspired foods are made quite often in our household. Therefore, the month of May is being dedicated to some of our Mexican food favorites. Enjoy :)

Enchiladas are a HUGE favorite in our household. My hubby always makes sure they are on the list of meals every month. One of the reasons why I like them are they make for great leftovers. I make 12 enchiladas per batch, we eat about 4 that night and then we have lunch meals for both of us for the next 2-days. All of this means that we eat dinner and have 2 lunches for about $1 per meal per person. Pretty great!!

For these enchiladas, I just buy some green chili enchilada sauce at the store. I am sure you could make them slightly healthier by making your own sauce, but that’s just not my MO right now. We really like the sauce I find and it’s not too unhealthy for us, just a little high in sodium maybe.

Anyways. I hope your family enjoys these as much as the hubs and I do!! :)

Ingredients Needed:

  • 3-4 Boneless Chicken Breasts
  • 12 Tortillas (medium-size)
  • 1 can of Enchilada Sauce (28 oz)
  • 1 can of Diced Tomatoes w/ Green Chilies (OPTIONAL)
  • 3 cups of Cheese (we use Mozzarella)

Prep Work:

Cook the chicken in the crockpot throughout the day for 6-8 hours on low. After the chicken is cooked, shred it and set aside. NOTE: Mix in the tomatoes with green chilies at this point if wanted. Add any seasoning if you want some more flavor.

ce_02

Preheat the oven to 350°.

Spray TWO glass baking dishes with non-stick spray.

In a large-sized bowl (or pie dish in my case), pour some of the enchilada sauce. Also, grab a plate for wrapping.

ce_03

Heat the tortillas in the microwave for about 15 seconds to loosen them up.

ce_01

Let’s Make Some Enchiladas!!:

Dip a tortilla in the sauce, making sure to flip it over so both sides get sauced, and set it on the plate. Add some chicken and some cheese. I don’t measure exactly (sorry), but I usually grab enough chicken that my fingertips can hold it. I do the same for the cheese, but I’m guessing I get around ¼ of a cup per enchilada.

ce_04

Fold in 1 end (or both if you prefer), roll and place in the prepared pans. Repeat this process for all 12 tortillas, 6 per dish.

ce_05

Pour the remaining enchilada sauce over the enchiladas. Top with some extra cheese if you want.

ce_06

ce_07

Bake for about 15-20 minutes in the oven, so the cheese inside the enchiladas is melty. Serve plain or with some rice and/or beans.

ce_08

You can print the PDF recipe card here: Chicken Enchiladas Recipe Card

Leave a Reply

