Chicken & Stuffing

One of my favorite ways to serve my husband is to have a good meal hot and ready when he arrives home from work, or shortly thereafter. It is something that brings me joy because I know it brings him joy. I know this isn’t every wife’s mentality, and that’s fine, but it is most definitely mine.

With that said, it must mean I love to be in the kitchen and love to cook. Well, there’s a little bit of truth in the first one (I enjoy the kitchen, but I enjoy hanging with my hubby more) and there’s a WHOLE LOTTA truth in the second one (I LOVE to cook, bake, all of it!). I enjoy cooking all types of meals, big, extravagant meals, medium-labor meals and quick and easy ones, but I would have to say that quick and easy are my absolute favorites. The reasoning: I’m not still in the kitchen preparing dinner when Jordan walks through the door. We’re able to hang out while dinner finishes cooking or dinner is ready and we can sit down and enjoy a meal together instantly.

Well, I think it’s time for another quick and easy meal. I love this one because (1) stuffing is fantastic and I don’t think we should limit it to Thanksgiving and/or Christmas; (2) the chicken is super moist; (3) it is a great way to eat some veggies, especially if you have a picky eater who doesn’t like them.

What You’ll Need:

  • 1 can of Cream of Chicken Soup (I use 98% fat free)
  • 1 can of Cream of Celery Soup (I use 98% fat free) (NOTE: you can use 2 cans of cream of chicken if needed)
  • 3-4 Boneless (Skinless) Chicken Breasts (we use thin-sliced)
  • 1 box of Chicken Stuffing (and all of the ingredients to make it)
  • 1 package of Frozen Veggies (or 1 can of veggies)

Let’s Get Cooking:

First off, preheat the oven to 400° and spray a baking dish with non-stick spray.

Prepare the stuffing according to the directions on the box. The usual M.O. for stuffing is: bring 1½ cups of water and 4 tbsp. of butter to a boil, then add the stuffing, stir, take off the burner and cover for 5 minutes (or so). NOTE: I usually cut out 2 tbsp. of butter.

In the baking dish, mix together the two soups. Then add the chicken breasts on top, kind of pushing them down into the liquid.

IMG_0049

Next, add the prepared stuffing on top of the chicken and soups.

IMG_0050

Finally, add the frozen (or canned) veggies on top. Broccoli is one of my favorite veggies to include in this dish.

IMG_0051

Cover the dish with tin foil and cook for 30 minutes.

IMG_0052

After the 30 minutes is up, be prepared for some of the moistest chicken you will ever eat. Each serving should consist of a chicken breast, some stuffing and some veggies (in our case, it was broccoli).

cs_05
For the PDF recipe card for this recipe, click here: Chicken & Stuffing Recipe Card

Leave a Reply

