Mini Chicken Pot Pies

Growing up, I remember eating chicken pot pies quite often. My parents would either buy the store bought kind or my dad would make some homemade ones. The thought of making homemade chicken pot pies just sounded SO daunting. Alas, though, it is not!

Quick note about this recipe. I use Cream of Chicken soup. Now, there are lots of people out there who don’t like it, and I get that, but I don’t mind it. There is an organic, gluten-free cream of chicken soup that can be used instead. If I am cooking for a gluten-free friend, I always choose this one. It is a little more expensive, which might be some of the reason why I don’t use it all of the time, but I don’t mind buying it if needed.

mcpp_00

P.S. If I had more time (or when I become a stay-at-mom in the future), I will probably make my own cream of chicken at home, but life just doesn’t permit that right now.

Moving on.

The thing I love the most about this recipe is how easy the leftovers are…and there are always leftovers between just the two of us. Unlike a normal chicken pot pie, these are mini, single-serving size. We each eat 2-3 and then the rest are leftovers that can be easily stored.

What You’ll Need:

  • 3-4 Boneless Chicken Breasts
  • 1 can of Cream of Chicken Soup
  • 1 can of Mixed Veggies, drained
  • 1 cup of Shredded Cheddar Cheese
  • 1 can of Pillsbury Biscuits (we get the flaky layer ones) NOTE: If you don’t want to get these biscuits, you can get something else like it.
  • Garlic Salt and/or Pepper to taste

Prep:

Cook the chicken in the crockpot throughout the day for 6-8 hours on low. Sorry, I feel like a broken-record repeating this so many times, but we really do like shredded chicken in our house. :)

After the chicken is done, you are ready to begin, so pull out the other ingredients.

mcpp_01

Let’s Make Some Pies:

Preheat the oven to 400° and spray a 12-cup muffin tin with non-stick spray.

Open the biscuits and separate 6 of them into two halves. You will want a top and a bottom, so DO NOT just cut them in half. You should be able to find a little split in the biscuit where you can pull them apart. NOTE: You’ll have 2 extra biscuits, since you only need 6 to split. I usually just bake those to have for breakfast some morning.

mcpp_02

Next, put 1 “half” biscuit into each muffin cup. Press it along the bottom and up the sides.

mcpp_03

Now it’s time to make the stuffing. Shred the chicken in a bowl. Add the mixed veggies and cream of chicken soup. Also, add any seasonings you want for extra flavor; I add garlic salt and pepper to mine. Stir to combine.

mcpp_04

Add a spoonful or so to each muffin cup. You should use all of the mixture.

mcpp_05

Let’s Bake:

Bake them for 15 minutes. Let them stand for 3 minutes and then enjoy tonight, tomorrow and the next day or two :)

mcpp_06

Want the recipe card to save in your kitchen? Download it here: Mini Chicken Pot Pies Recipe Card

Leave a Reply

