Salted Caramel Brownie Truffles

My hubby loves brownies. And by loves, I mean, will devour a pan in a heartbeat, so I’ve gotta be careful when I make them.

Me on the other hand, I like my fair share of brownies, but what I really like is a nice warm brownie and some caramel froyo.

SO…I set out on a mission to make a delicious treat involving brownies and caramel in a slightly more conventional way than froyo. So I started to think, what if I put the caramel inside of the brownies somehow. And then made them bite size. And dipped in chocolate with a little sea salt sprinkled on the outside.

Thus, the Salted Caramel Brownie Truffle was born into our house!

Ingredient List:

  • 1 Box of Brownie Mix (and the ingredients on the back)
  • 2-3 Rolls of Rolos (depends on your mix and how many brownies you get out of it)
  • 1 Package of Semi-Sweet Chocolate Chips (OR you can use Chocolate CandiQuik)
  • Sea Salt

Brownie Mix Explanation:

One of the hubby’s best friends is gluten free, as well as one of my co-workers. This has become something intriguing to me and has made me think a little more about my cooking if either of these two might be involved. Thus, for this recipe, I used Betty Crocker’s Gluten Free Brownie mix.

scbt_01

I made the mix in an 8×8 pan and it made 15 brownies, but feel free to change up the recipe to your liking. ALSO, I substituted applesauce for the butter since that’s how we roll in our house.

scbt_02

Onto the Instructions:

Mix together and bake the brownies according to the box. NOTE: I would definitely spray your pan with cooking spray, no matter if the box says to or not. Trust me, you will thank me later. :)

Let the brownies cool completely, which meant I let my cool for about 15 minutes or so while I cleaned up the kitchen and prepared the other ingredients.

scbt_04

Cut the brownies into an even amount of squares. I did 4 columns and 4 rows. If you want to know about how many squares you “should” be able to get, check out the nutritional facts and it will tell you how many servings.

scbt_03

scbt_05

Take out one of the brownie squares and place 1 Rolo piece in the middle. Then begin to wrap the brownie around the Rolo.

scbt_06

Form a ball and then set on a plate OR in a tuber-ware dish, covered with wax paper is best.

scbt_07

scbt_08

After all of the brownies have been formed into balls with a Rolo in the center, put them in the fridge to cool down for an hour.

After an hour of cooling, melt the chocolate in the microwave. NOTE: To do the melting, pour the entire bag of chips in a glass or ceramic bowl. Place the bowl in the microwave and zap it for 30 second increments, making sure to stir after each one.

Dip, dunk and roll the brownie balls in the chocolate and place back on the wax paper.

scbt_09

scbt_10

When you are done with all of the dipping, dunking and rolling, sprinkle the brownie balls with some sea salt (don’t be overly generous, a little goes a long way).

scbt_11

And then…ENJOY!! And try not to eat too many in one sitting.

[These went so quickly when I made them that I didn’t get a chance to get an inside picture. I’ll update next time I make them.]

Print out the recipe card here: Salted Caramel Brownie Truffles Recipe Card

Leave a Reply

