Chicken & Rice Soup

This happens to be ones of my favorite soup recipes. I don’t know if it is the rice, the chicken or the veggies I like more, but one thing I know for sure…it’s definitely a comfort food recipe.

Like many of my recipes, this is a great recipe to mix all of the ingredients and freeze for later. OR to freeze and take over to a friend in need. I made this recipe as a freezer meal for us to have at a later date, so that’s why the pictures are taken with a Ziploc bag and such.

I hope you all enjoy it as much as we do around our house!!

Ingredients:

  • 2-3 Boneless Chicken Breasts
  • 2-3 Sticks of Celery (sliced up)
  • Couple of handfuls of Carrots
  • 2 cans of Cream of Chicken Soup
  • 2 can of Chicken Broth (OR 2 Bouillon Cubes & 2 cups of water)
  • 1 Box of Rice-A-Roni Rice (we like Long Grain & Wild Rice or Chicken flavor)

Let’s Make Some Soup:

Like I said earlier, I was preparing this meal to freeze and then eat later. Therefore, to begin, I labelled the bag with directions. I’ve learned the hard way on this before :)

crs_01

Next, chop up the celery and break out the carrots. We love to support our local farmers (and friends) who happen to be carrot farmers here in Colorado. Check their website out here: Hungenberg Produce

crs_03

Don’t forget the rest of your ingredients.

crs_02

Add all of the ingredients to the bag, including the rice and the seasoning packet that comes with it. I usually put the bag in a bowl to keep it from spilling.

crs_04

Seal it up and lay it in the freezer until the night before you are wanting to cook it. OR take it to a friend in need for an easy crock-pot meal.

crs_05

I usually put our bag in a bowl and set it in the fridge the night before I am wanting to make the meal. Then the next morning, I throw it all in the crock-pot, set it on LOW for 6-8 hours and let the crock-pot do its thing.
NOTE: Add any other spices and/or seasonings, if desired.

Shred the chicken prior to serving and ENJOY this wonderful, easy comfort food!!  

crs_06

Want the recipe card for safe keeping? Here it is for you to print: Chicken & Rice Soup Recipe Card

Leave a Reply

