Our Little Girl’s [Perfect] Birth Story – Part 2

This is the final post in the 2 part “series” of our little girl’s [perfect] birth story…our one of a kind, no one else has it story. And what better day to post her entering this world than 5 months after it happened.

If you haven’t had a chance to read part 1, you can read it here. Just a fair warning, there will be some blood in some of the pictures below, not in a gross way, but in a “child was just born” kind of way.

NOTE: At the end of the last post, Jordan & I were walking towards the OR.

Jordan & my mom had to wait outside of the OR while they prepped me. This meant they gave me the spinal blocker, which numbed my lower half (though during the actual surgery, I could feel some pushing/pressure as they pushed/pulled her out). They also laid me on the table & put the sheet up between my lower half & head/shoulders. After all this was done, they went & retrieved Jordan & my mom.

P1020932

The next part was quite crazy. We were told it was going to go quickly, but never did we think it would be as quick as it was. First off, we kind of thought that they would say “here we go,” or “we’re going to start now,” but nope. All of a sudden we hear some suction, then “There’s a butt. There’s a foot.” And then that sweet cry that made us parents of a human (we are parents to 3 wonderful pup-kids already). It all happened in about 3-5 minutes from when Jordan came into the OR.

Here are some of the AMAZING pictures my mom captured for us!

P1020925

(The lady in the middle-front of the picture was one of our Amazing & favorite midwives, Tina. We were so happy she was there with us!! The lady on the right-side was our wonderful, talented surgeon, Dr. Krause!!)

P1020926

P1020937

(They had officially started in this picture…unbeknownst to Jordan & I.)

P1020946

P1020948

(And there she is!!)

P1020949

P1020953

P1020954

(Ah…that sweet, precious cry of hers.)

P1020957

(They lowered the screen just enough so both Jordan & I could see our sweet little girl. She was gorgeous & wonderful & the feelings we both felt were truly indescribable!!)

Jordan then left my side to be at our little girl’s while she was taken over to the warmer to be examined & cleaned off. He was talking to her the entire time & every now & again he would tell me just how perfect she was. It was such an amazing experience to not be able to see them at all, but just be able to hear my husband connecting with & loving our baby girl.

P1020972

P1020984

P1020985

P1030012

(One of the MANY pictures I am so thankful my mom captured since I wasn’t able to see any of this & so we could cherish it forever!)

P1030026

On the funny side: at one point, while over at the warmer, Jordan asked “10 & 10,” thinking fingers & toes, but the nurse responded “no, it’s usually 8 & 8,” thinking APGAR scores instead. It’s a funny little memory he has from it all.

After our little girl was done being checked & cleaned off, they could’ve swaddled her & placed her on my cheek, but instead, we opted to have her placed on Jordan’s chest. We wanted her to have that all important skin-to-skin right away with one of us. This was another blessing I looked at with having a c-section. My husband was going to have an experience most men do not get to experience until hours after the birth. He was going to be the first skin-to-skin contact our baby girl had. He was going to help bring up her temperature. He was going to help give her a rush of hormones as she took in his scent. He was going to be able to bond with her in such an unreal way!! I was pumped about this part!! Oh & PS, my mom captured some unreal shots during this part.

P1030039

P1030046

P1030049

P1030036

(Easily one of my favorite pictures of the entire experience…dad & daughter just with each other, eyes closed, skin-to-skin & bonding…be still my heart!!)

After they had sewn me up, Jordan carried her into the PACU (post-anesthesia care unit) as the nurses pushed me in there. She was weighed & checked a little bit more while they checked me out & told me a little bit about what my next few hours was going to be like as the spinal blocker started to wear off.

P1030061

P1030072

P1030090

And then finally, about 45 mins to an hour after her birth, I was able to see our perfect, little girl up close & personal. And what an amazing, wonderful moment that was!!

P1030111

P1030118

Before the c-section, we were still debating between 2 names for her first name. We knew Grace was going to be her middle name, but we were waiting to see her before deciding on the first name. At one point in the recovery room, Jordan says, “I know what her name is. Ellie Grace.”

Ellie Grace. It was perfect. She was perfect!

IMG_2566

We stayed in the hospital for 4 days & 3 nights. I would be lying if I said that the first night was easy. It was hard. Forcing myself to stand. Forcing myself to get out of bed & walk a couple of steps. I was stubborn, of course, & didn’t want to take any of the pain meds, aside from the ibuprofen, but after I couldn’t get out of my own head to start walking, the nurse had convinced me that in order to be strong for our daughter, I needed to start progressing in my recovery, and the pain meds were necessary. By the next day, I was a little more mobile. Getting up & walking around the room a little bit. I wasn’t ready to walk a marathon or anything, but I knew that moving was only going to help.

Ellie spent almost the entire stay in the hospital on my chest. She did not go in the bassinet unless she was getting a diaper change (all of which my wonderful husband performed) or was getting checked by her doctor or nurse. If she wasn’t on my chest, she was on her dad’s chest. We wanted to be the only ones that held her for those first few days because we wanted to bond with her & to help with breastfeeding for me. Jordan’s parents & my mom held her at one point, but other than those brief moments, she was either on me or Jordan. And this is something I will HIGHLY encourage to everyone out there. It is OKAY to be selfish with your baby, especially those first few days. Not only did Ellie feed like a champ because of it, but it also helped my milk supply come in a little earlier (especially for a c-section). Also, it is your baby. No parents should EVER feel guilty for wanting to be the only ones to hold their new baby the entire time. Not everyone will feel this way, but well that’s how I feel so I wanted to share.

We were able to go home on Wednesday & boy, I was ready at this point. I was ready to introduce Ellie to her three fury sisters at home & I was missing them tremendously, too!! Jordan went home each day to see them, while my brother & mom helped to take care of them the rest of the time during our hospital stay. But hey, I’m their mom & I missed them!!

IMG_2651

 

So that’s our birth story. It wasn’t the original one we had planned in our heads, instead it was the PERFECT one God had planned for us!! He knew what He was doing to help our precious, amazing, beautiful, perfect little girl arrive Earth side safe & sound.

Ellie Grace | 9.6.15 | 10:53a
7 lbs 14oz | 21 inches

IMG_2638

IMG_2656

(Her going home outfit in remembrance of her grandpa, my dad…her 1st Husker shirt!!)

Thanks for making it all the way through the slightly long story, by the way!! It was wonderful to share Ellie’s birth story with you!!

 

Leave a Reply

